Online Portal Download Mobile App हिंदी ACE +91 9415011892 / 9415011893

Daily Current Affairs – 2020

Topic: For Prelims and Mains


Why in News?

  • The Tripura Tribal Areas Autonomous District Council (TTAADC)has  recently passed resolutions to codify the customary laws of three tribal clans- Mizo, Kaipeng and Malsom.

What are Autonomous District Council?

  • As per the Sixth Schedule,the four states viz. Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura and Mizoram contain the Tribal Areas which are technically different from the Scheduled Areas. Though these areas fall within the executive authority of the state, provision has been made for the creation of the District Councils and regional councils for the exercise of the certain legislative and judicial powers. Each district is an autonomous district and Governor can modify / divide the boundaries of the said Tribal areas by notification.

 The Governor may, by public notification:

(a) Include any area.

(b) exclude any area.

(c) create a new autonomous district.

(d) increase the area of any autonomous district.

(e) diminish the area of any autonomous district.

(f) alter the name of any autonomous district.

(g) define the boundaries of any autonomous district.

Constitution of District Councils and Regional Councils:

(1) There shall be a District Council for each autonomous district consisting of not more than thirty members, of whom not more than four persons shall be nominated by the Governor and the rest shall be elected on the basis of adult suffrage.

(2) There shall be a separate Regional Council for each area constituted an autonomous region.

(3) Each District Council and each Regional Council shall be a body corporate by the name respectively of the District Council of (name of district) and the Regional Council of (name of region), shall have perpetual succession and a common seal and shall by the said name sue and be sued.

Related- 125th amendment bill:

  1. It seeks to increase the financial and executive powers of the 10 Autonomous Councilsin the Sixth Schedule areas of the northeastern region.
  2. The amendments provide for elected village municipal councils ,ensuring democracy at the grass root level.
  3. Powers: The village councils will be empowered to prepare plans for economic development and social justice including those related to agriculture, land improvement, implementation of land reforms, minor irrigation, water management, animal husbandry, rural electrification, small scale industries and social forestry.
  4. The Finance Commissionwill be mandated to recommend devolution of financial resources to them.
  5. Finance: The Autonomous Councils now depend on grants from Central ministries and the State government for specific projects.
  6. Reservations: At least one-third of the seats will be reserved for women in the village and municipal councils in the Sixth Schedule areas of Assam, Mizoram and Tripura after the amendment is approved.

Major Port Authority Bill ,2020

Why In News?

The Cabinet has given its nod to Major Ports Authority Bill that will replace a 1963 law governing country’s 12 major ports.


At present the ports are governed by a ports law of 1963. The major port sector has not seen the required level of fixed assets creation to pare the country’s high logistic costs owing to legacy issues including the Tariff Authority for Major Ports (TAMP)’s archaic regulatory grip.

Overview of the Bill:

  1. The proposed law is aimed at enhancing the overall efficiencies of the ports.
  2. Now ‘major ports’ will get to determine the tariffs for various port-related services as well as the terms for private developers who team up with them.
  3. Every port will now be governed by a Port Authoritywhich will have powers to fix reference tariffs for various port services.
  4. The Bill also proposes the creation of an adjudicatory board at the apex level for review of port authority’s decisions. It will have the mandate to resolve the disputes between port authorities and the PPP operators.

Major Ports in India:

India has 12 major ports — Deendayal (erstwhile Kandla), Mumbai, JNPT, Marmugao, New Mangalore, Cochin, Chennai, Kamarajar (earlier Ennore), V O Chidambarnar, Visakhapatnam, Paradip and Kolkata (including Haldia).

Facts for Prelims

Nilgiri Tahr:

The population of the State animal, the endangered Nilgiri tahr, spilling over from its predominant range.

Nilgiri Tahr:

  • It is the State animal of Tamil Nadu.
  • It is classified as “Endangered” by the IUCN.
  • It has been listed under Schedule 1 of the Wildlife (Protection) Act, 1972.
  • It is endemic to the Nilgiri Hills and the southern portion of the Western Ghats in Tamil Nadu and Kerala.
  • The Nilgiri tahr inhabits the open montane grassland habitats of the South Western Ghats.
  • Eravikulam National Parkin Kerala is home to the largest population.

Arth-Ganga project:

Why in news?

The Minister of State for Shipping (Independent Charge), Chemical, and Fertilizers while addressing the press conference recently  highlighted that Inland Waterways is one of the most important pillars of “Arth-Ganga” project.

More about

  • Recently, the Ganga Council headed by Prime Minister (PM floated a plan to promote sustainable agriculture in the Gangetic plain by promoting organic clusters in a five-km stretch on both sides of the Ganga basin in Uttarakhand, UP, Bihar, Jharkhand and West Bengal (Arth Ganga Project).
  • Almost half of the Indian population lives around Ganges River belt in which about 1/5th of all India’s freight originates and 1/3rd terminates in the states around Ganges Belt.
  • Arth-Ganga” will channelize economic activity along the banks of Ganga River.


Latest News

get in touch with the best IAS Coaching in Lucknow