Online Portal Download Mobile App हिंदी ACE +91 9415011892 / 9415011893

Daily Current Affairs – 2020

Topic: For Prelims and Mains

National Institute of Sowa-Rigpa (NISR)

22nd November 2019

Why in news?

The Union Cabinet has approved setting up of National Institute of Sowa-Rigpa (NISR) at Leh, Union Territory of Ladakh.

Key facts:

  • It will be an autonomous national institute under the Ministry of AYUSH with the mandate to undertake interdisciplinary education and research programmes in Sowa-Rigpa in collaboration with national and international institutes.
  • It will act as an apex institute for Sowa-Rigpa system.
  • The existing Sowa-Rigpa institutions work under the Ministry of Culture.

What is Sowa -Rigpa?

  • It is a traditional system of medicine practised in the Himalayan belt of India.
  • It originated in Tibet and popularly practiced in countries namely, India, Nepal, Bhutan, Mongolia, and Russia.
  • The majority of theory and practice of Sowa-Rigpa is similar to “Ayurveda”.
  • Yuthog Yonten Gonpo from Tibet is believed to be the father of Sowa Rigpa.

The basic theory of Sowa-Rigpa may be adumbrated in terms of the following five points:

  • The body in disease as the locus of treatment.
  • Antidote, i.e., the treatment.
  • The method of treatment through antidote.
  • Medicine that cures the disease.
  • Materia Medica, Pharmacy & Pharmacology.

Indira Gandhi Prize for Peace, Disarmament and Development 2019

Why in news?

Naturalist and broadcaster David Attenborough to get Indira Gandhi Peace Prize for 2019.

About the news:

  • Indira Gandhi Peace Prize 2019 – David Attenborough
  • He is being awarded the prize for a lifetime of doing more to reveal the wonders of the natural world to us than perhaps any other individual.
  • He was selected for the 2019 prize by an international jury chaired by former President Pranab Mukherjee.

Indira Gandhi Prize for Peace, Disarmament and Development:

  • Awarded annually by Indira Gandhi Trust since 1986.
  • It is awarded to individuals or organizations in recognition of their creative efforts towards promoting international peace, development.
  • It is also bestowed upon them for creating new international economic order and ensuring that scientific discoveries are used for the larger good of humanity and enlarging the scope of freedom.

Award Recipients (Important):

  • UNICEF (1989), Rajiv Gandhi (1991),Muhammad Yunus (1998), M S Swaminathan (1999), Kofi Annan (2003), Sheikh Hasina (2009), Angel Merkel (2013), Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO) (2014) and UN High Commission for Refugees (2015), Manmohan Singh (2017), Centre for Science and Environment (CSE) (2018).


Latest News

get in touch with the best IAS Coaching in Lucknow