Online Portal Download Mobile App हिंदी ACE +91 9415011892 / 9415011893

Daily Current Affairs Answer & Explanation : 22 July 2020

Question 1.



  • Pension Fund Regulatory and Development Authority (PFRDA) is working on a minimum assured return scheme (MARS) for subscribers of the National Pension System (NPS).
  • The Pension Fund Regulatory & Development Authority Act was passed on 19th September, 2013 and the same was notified on 1st February, 2014.
  • PFRDA is regulating NPS, subscribed by employees of Govt. of India, State Governments and by employees of private institutions/organizations & unorganized sectors.


Question 2.

Answer- a


  • Danakil Depression is located in northeastern Ethiopia.
  • It is one of the world’s hottest places, as well as one of its lowest, at 100 metres below sea level.
  • A recent study stated that an active and naturally occurring life cannot be sustained at Danakil, Ethiopia.

It has two reasons-

  • Magnesium-dominated brinesthat cause cells to break down.
  • An Environment having simultaneously very low pHand high salt, a combination that makes adaptation highly difficult.


 Question 3.

Answer- d


Inner Line Permit (ILP) System

  • It is an official travel document required by Indian citizens residing outside certain protected states while entering them.
  • The ILP is issued by the Government of India and is obligatory for all those who reside outside the protected states.
  • By the ILP, government aims to regulate movement to certain areas located near the international border of India.
  • Currently, the Inner Line Permit is operational in Arunachal PradeshMizoram and Nagaland.


Question 4.

Answer- c


  • At the national level, Cabinet Committee on Security (CCS) and National Crisis Management Committee (NCMC) are the key committees involved in the top-level decision-making wrt Disaster Management (DM).
  • It deals with major crisis which have serious or national ramification
  • It is headed by the Cabinet Secretary (Chairperson)


Question 5.

Answer-  a


  • The 2012 Cape Town Agreement (CTA) was adopted by the International Maritime Organization (IMO).
  • It outlines fishing vessel standards and includes other regulations designed to protect the safety of crews and observers.
  • It seeks to introduce mandatory safety measures for fishing vessels of 24 metres and over in length.
  • It seeks to help combat illegal, unregulated and unreported (IUU) fishing.
  • Thus far, 13 countries have ratified the Cape Town Agreement: Belgium, Congo, Cook Islands, Denmark, France, Germany, Iceland, The Netherlands, Norway, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Sao Tome and Principe, South Africa and Spain.
  • India yet to ratify the CTA.


Latest News

get in touch with the best IAS Coaching in Lucknow